• Tournament
  • Scores
  • Media
  • Tickets
  • Hospitality
  • Practical information
  • Animations
  • JOBS

Looking Back At The Past Champions


The Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters is just over two weeks away. The historic clay-court ATP Masters 1000 event, which celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2006, has crowned a host of icon champions in its history.

Ahead of the 2024 edition, let’s look back at the past four winners in Monaco.

2023 – Andrey Rublev

The 26-year-old captured his maiden Masters 1000 title last season in Monte-Carlo, where he clawed past Holger Rune in three sets in the title match. Rublev also won deciding-set clashes against Jaume Munar and Taylor Fritz.

2021, 2022 – Stefanos Tsitsipas

The Greek made Monte-Carlo his fortress for two consecutive years, blowing away the field with his weight and depth of shot. In 2021, Tsitsipas did not drop a set en route to the title, beating Rublev in the championship match.

He then returned 12 months later and was once again impressive, defeating Alexander Zverev in the semi-finals and Alejandro Davidovich Fokina in the final. Tsitsipas has never triumphed at another ATP Masters 1000 event.

2019 – Fabio Fognini

Fognini captured the biggest title of his career in 2019 when he enjoyed a dream run to his first ATP Masters 1000 crown in Monte-Carlo. The Italian, who has won eight of his nine tour-level singles titles on clay, upset Rafael Nadal in the last four and downed Dusan Lajovic in the final.

2018 – Rafael Nadal

The king of clay won his record-extending 11th Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters title in 2018. The Spaniard, who is set to compete in The Principality for the first time since 2021 next month, did not drop more than four games in any set during the 2018 edition.

Other news
Tsitsipas: Why overcoming Sinner ‘obstacle’ was key to Monte-Carlo progress

Greek reflects on triumph

Read more
Ruud: ‘I have taken steps in the right direction’

Norwegian lost to Tsitsipas in Sunday’s Monte-Carlo final.

Read more
Tsitsipas rules again! Greek soars to third Monte-Carlo title

Greek wins third title in the Principality.

Read more