Novak Returns To Monte-Carlo

Main draw action continues to heat up on Day 3 of the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters. Ten main draw singles matches will take place on Tuesday, with former champions Novak Djokovic and Stan Wawrinka headlining play at the Monte-Carlo Country Club.

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic opens his bid for a third Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters title and will look for payback against Philipp Kohslchreiber. The German won their third-round clash last month at the BNP Paribas Open, but Djokovic leads their FedEx ATP Head2Head rivalry 8-2. Kohlschreiber’s only other victory against the Serbian came 10 years ago at Roland Garros.

Stan Wawrinka, the 2014 champion, confronts eleventh seed Marco Cecchinato. The Italian has proven himself to be a clay-court expert and has won all three of his ATP Tour titles on this surface in the past 12 months (Budapest 2018, Umag 2018 and Buenos Aires 2019). Wawrinka has quickly rounded into form in Monte-Carlo, winning 10 of the last 13 games in his first-round triumph over Lucas Pouille, meaning this match has all the makings of an epic battle. The winner will go on to face either No. 7 seed Marin Cilic or Argentine Guido Pella for a place in the quarter-finals.

#NextGenATP star Felix Auger-Aliassime, who enters at a career-high No. 33 in the ATP Rankings following a semi-final run in Miami, features in first-round action against Argentine qualifier Juan Ignacio Londero. The winner will play third seed Alexander Zverev of Germany on Wednesday.
Other notable names in action on Tuesday include eighth seed Karen Khachanov of Russia against Italian qualifier Lorenzo Sonego, ninth seed Borna Coric of Croatia taking on Jaume Munar of Spain, and two-time Monte-Carlo semi-finalist Jo-Wilfried Tsonga of France kicking off play on Court Rainier III against Taylor Fritz of the United States.


COURT RAINIER III start 11:00 am
[PR] Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) vs Taylor Fritz (USA)
[7] Marin Cilic (CRO) vs Guido Pella (ARG)
[1] Novak Djokovic (SRB) vs Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)
Stan Wawrinka (SUI) vs [11] Marco Cecchinato (ITA)

COURT DES PRINCES start 11:00 am
Fernando Verdasco (ESP) vs Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA)
Gilles Simon (FRA) vs [Q] Alexei Popyrin (AUS)
[Q] Lorenzo Sonego (ITA) vs [8] Karen Khachanov (RUS)
[WC] Jaume Munar (ESP) vs [9] Borna Coric (CRO)

COURT 2 start 11:00 am
[WC] Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN) vs [Q] Juan Ignacio Londero (ARG)
David Goffin (BEL) / Lucas Pouille (FRA) vs Marcelo Demoliner (BRA) / Daniil Medvedev (RUS)
After Suitable Rest – Marton Fucsovics (HUN) / Guido Pella (ARG) vs Matteo Berrettini (ITA) / Fabio Fognini (ITA)

COURT 9 start 11:00 am
Adrian Mannarino (FRA) vs Cameron Norrie (GBR)
[7] Nikola Mektic (CRO) / Franko Skugor (CRO) vs Matwe Middelkoop (NED) / Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
After Suitable Rest – [WC] Jurgen Melzer (AUT) / Dominic Thiem (AUT) vs Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN) / Denis Shapovalov (CAN)

COURT 11 start 1:00 pm
Radu Albot (MDA) / Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO) vs [8] Raven Klaasen (RSA) / Joe Salisbury (GBR)
Not Before 3:00 pm
Kyle Edmund (GBR) / Neal Skupski (GBR) vs Diego Schwartzman (ARG) / Joao Sousa (POR)

Our partners